top of page
Search

Self Care for the Seasonal Sniffles

May 2020


Spring and Summer are my favorite time of year. I love the warmth, the sunshine, the laughter, grilling with friends, all the newness, and the playing that comes with the season. I don’t like how my neighbors hear me when I lose my temper on my kids. Glad my windows were shut today. But - grace, apologies, and lots of love. I am done trying to be perfect. AND... I’m working on this. Another thing I don’t like is when all the beautiful new growth causes me or others to be uncomfortable. Read on to learn about some simple ways you can approach those uncomfortable moments or days come around. 



Keep Healthy Habits

The best way for us to protect ourselves is to practice healthy habits. When it comes to seasonal discomforts there are so many ways you can protect yourself a bit. After a little googling I found some great ways to take care of ourselves during this season.

  1. Eat Healthily - we all know that this is huge for our overall wellness. 

  2. Avoid cigarette smoke - this is commonly known to disrupt our respiratory comfort. 

  3. Install a HEPA filter on your air-conditioner to help reduce the small particles from coming into your home.

  4. Keep the windows shut - I know, this makes me sad too. BUT… feeling good matters! 

  5. Do nasal rinses regularly. The instructions come right with your Neti Pot or Nasal Bottle. Keep those nasal passages clean! I promise it is not as weird as it sounds. 

  6. Drink Lots of Fluids! You guys! The more water you drink, the thinner the mucus will be AND did you know warm fluids add steam which is so great for your respiratory system? 

  7. Speaking of Steam - practicing some steam tenting. Inhale steam to help keep things nice and loose. An added trick - add a drop of R.C. Essential Oil to invigorate your respiratory system. 



Switch to Natural Cleaners

Harsh chemicals are known to be major respiratory disruptors. When you remove harsh chemicals from your home you are bound to see a huge difference in your respiratory health. We have to remember though that lots of companies label their cleaners as natural because this is not regulated well in the U.S. many of those cleaners still aren't good for you. In addition, candles, air fresheners, and other things you like to use to make your home smell pretty and fresh are loaded with ingredients that disrupt your respiratory system as well. Even WebMD recommends removing harsh chemicals. I love the natural cleaner I use! 




Respond vs React

  1. If you have been outside it is important to remember that you bring in tiny particles of nature with you on your clothes and skin. Change your clothes and wash up, maybe even go to the extent of taking a shower.  

  2. Drink Lemon and Peppermint Tea. I love how lemon naturally cleanses our system and peppermint seems to refresh everything. I love making my own and adding a tsp or so of honey. 

  3. Find supplements or other natural products that soothe your discomforts. I personally love to take some lavender, lemon, and peppermint and diffuse them to keep my air fresh and smelling nice in my home, make a roller so I can roll it around my eyes and nose if I am uncomfortable, or even use the dietary ones to take internally to support my daily wellness. 



Love the Seasons Roll-On

Ingredients

10 drops Lavender Essential Oil

10 drops Lemon Essential Oil

10 drops Peppermint Essential Oil

Carrier of Choice

10 ml Roller Bottle

Directions

Add essential oils to the roller bottle, top off with carrier, put the top on, give a gentle shake. Roll onto areas needed - neck, cheeks, around (but away from) eyes. 



I don’t know about you but I like knowing I have options. I like knowing that I can attempt my daily wellness needs naturally first. Honestly, this is a form of self-care. Tonight I am making some tasty lavender lemonade to help me keep my body free of any seasonal sniffles. And let’s be honest, to also enjoy on my deck while I watch my kids play. Does the idea of changing your cleaners & changing habits to better your life overwhelm you? That is ok. Remember, you can only take one step at a time and you deserve grace, not perfection. If you’d like help on your journey of transitioning 1 step at a time, let’s connect. It’s super easy. Oh and we can chat about the cleaner I use for absolutely E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G 


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page